top of page

Testimonies of Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is just what it sounds like—giving thanks. Thanksgiving is necessary for keeping us humble. When we thank God for the great works that He has done for us, we express that we cannot provide for ourselves and that we need God. If we do not give thanks and glory to God, we become degenerate and fall into other sins. For this reason, it is important to remember God and thank Him for His work in us. In 2019, God gave me multiple experiences for which I can have thanksgiving.

In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. 1 Thessalonians 5:18
Because that, when they knew God, they glorified him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened. Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools, Romans 1:21-22

I thank God for the trials through which I have gone. Earlier this year, I didn’t respond godly to a friend who hurt me. As a result, I made the situation worse, but God, through different mentors, showed me the proper way to deal with conflicts. When I handled the situation correctly, God brought healing to both me and my friend. In the following months, God started healing our friendship. I give thanks to the Lord for making me more mature in the midst of these trials, just as He promised.

And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; And patience, experience; and experience, hope: And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us. Romans 5:3-5

Thanks be to God for the opportunities that He has given me to share His Word! Throughout this year, God gave me several chances to share the gospel. Starting the year with Finding Focus 2019, I explained how our faith in God needs to be a commitment. Later that month, I went to Mexico to serve the community, and I got share my testimony. When I got back, I wrote a blog post and made a video on my experience of hearing from God while I was in Mexico. When I went through a period of time with a broken friendship, I wrote several blog posts and had a few live streams about how God was working in my life. During the summer, I was a junior counselor at Sequoia Brigade Camp, and God led me to witness to young boys and see a few of them accept Christ as their Lord and Savior. I am grateful that God chose me to be a vessel to spread His Word.

Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world, Amen. Matthew 28:19-20
And I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, Now is come salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of his Christ: for the accuser of our brethren is cast down, which accused them before our God day and night. And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; and they loved not their lives unto the death. Revelation 12:10-11

I have gratitude for God for my friends and mentors. Last year, when I asked Dave about being a junior counselor, he told me that he wanted me to work on listening to others in a conversation instead of dominating it. As I worked on it, God helped me to have better conversation with my friends. However, when my friendship fell apart, Dave and Mr. Diestler advised me in how to respond and for what and whom to pray.

In other matters, my friends have given me advice on what to do or say. Recently, I’ve spent time hanging out with a couple friends either by calling them or actually doing something together. God has blessed me with being able to better connect with my friends from school. Glory to God for His bringing together of my friends and me!

Wherefore comfort yourselves together, and edify one another, even as also ye do. I Thessalonians 5:11
Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour. For if they fall, the one will life up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up. Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

Lastly, I’m thankful for God’s faithfulness. I was unsure of what was going to happen with my friendship, but God provided mentors and started the healing process. In May, Truth and Love Ministries needed someone to join our team in the place of Janelle. Even though I didn’t know who was going to be the next member of our team, I trusted that God would come through, and He led Rebecca and me to Tania and later Jaylin to join our team. Right now, I’m going through another trial, and I don’t know what’s going to happen, but I know that God is faithful, and I will continue to put my total trust in Him. Oh, how beautiful is God’s faithfulness at work!

Know therefore that the Lord thy God, he is God, the faithful God, which keepeth covenant and mercy with them that love him and keep his commandments to a thousand generations; Deuteronomy 7:9

Thankfulness is the expression of gratitude to someone for something that has been given to you. God has given us so much that we cannot even comprehend everything that He has given us. I encourage you to create a list of for what and whom you are thankful. Afterwards, pray and spend time thanking God for the people He has put in your life and the blessings He has given you. When you thank God, you will enter into His presence and experience another blessing from Him – His joy, which is your strength! This holiday season remember to thank God, for He has done great things for us!

Happy Thanksgiving!

COMMITTING TO GOD’S GRACE AND LOVE,

Jeremiah Yonemura




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page