top of page

The Thing Unseen


Helplessness is the thing unseen.

But, you can feel it. You can feel it as your leg shakes. You can feel it as tears roll down your cheek. You can feel it as your dreams shatter in front of you. Sometimes you feel like you are too far gone to even begin to turn to God- and maybe you don’t even know God

As we roll up in these feelings of monochromatic depression and relentless anxieties, a sense of apathy overcomes us, preventing us from ever reaching our true potential. Living in our broken-down society has taught us that we have to find a way to cope with the things and problems that bother us and break us down. We are taught from the earliest age that sadness, anger, and anxiety are all negative emotions. We are taught that it’s bad to feel these things, and we should always find our way back to happiness, as soon as possible.

Our heavenly father bestowed Jesus as our savior. He lived in this world, and He felt joy, happiness, and love— but He also felt sadness (John 11:4-7). Jesus felt anger (Matthew 23:33) and frustration (Mark 4:35-41). Jesus was disgusted by the ways of this world when it came to racism, greed, and oppression (John 2:13-17).

If our Lord and savior can cry, feel raged, have relentless exhaustion, and be filled with agony, then surely it is okay to not be okay:

From time to time to day to day,

Once in a while, you won’t be okay.

Some moments you have to persevere,

And sometimes you shouldn’t wipe away that tear.

You have to feel what you are feeling,

Because hiding it away isn’t the path to healing.

There will be phases where you won’t be your best,

Where it’s hard to keep going on this lifelong quest.

But you have to keep living.

It’s yourself that you should be forgiving.

Because to face your trouble,

You have to embrace your struggle.

With each day you are growing stronger.

So please, hold on for a bit longer.

God will fix it.

(Original poem)

Yes.

God will fix it, and the biggest prayer you can ever give to him is one word: help. Ask Him for help and he will help you. 1 Peter 5:7 says “Cast all of your anxieties on to him, for he cares for you.” God cares about your problems and wants to fix them. You are going to be okay, even if it doesn’t feel like it right now. God created us in his image (Genesis 1:27). I like to think that all the times we look in the mirror and critique ourselves, all those moments we spend crying wishing we looked different, and all those hours we spend hating ourselves; God is looking over us with tears in his eyes, saddened that we don’t see the incredible beauty He gave to us, both externally and internally. God loves us so, and he wants us to fall in love with Him, the people around us, and ourselves. It can be easy to get caught up in the ways of this world, especially when our problems seem to revolve around our lives, but we have to trust that God has a plan for us.

If you want to cast your anxieties on to God and give him your struggles, please pray this prayer with me:

Lord, I need your help. I need your help in everything I do. I have tried to make it through this world by my own actions, and it isn’t working out for me. I am broken and I feel like I am too far gone to be fixed, so please, help me. Help me see the beauty in myself, others, and especially you. I don’t feel okay, my heart is hurting, and I fear that I’m never going to be happy again. Lord, please help me. Help me return to your plan and ideals of the world, and take the things, people, and harm in my life that is not in the future that you have built for me. I may never understand these things Lord, but you do, and I want to trust you. I want to trust in you Lord and I want you to reign over my life.

Amen.

For in our weakness, He is strong,

Jaylin Santos


39 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page