top of page

Worry Not; God's Got It


To what are you looking forward in life? Perhaps you’re anticipating graduation from high school, college, or both. Maybe you’re looking ahead to marrying your future husband or wife or meeting him or her. You might even be eager to get that great career with lots of money you just know you’re going to have. For some of these ambitions, God may have called you to fulfill these while with others, God may have different plans for you. In some cases, God may have even already spoken to you about your career, spouse, or other parts of your life. Often, God will share just a small part of our lives so that we know in which direction to go but in a way that always keeps us reliant on Him. These past few years of my life, it’s been difficult to trust God and to not take matters into my own hands.

“Therefore I tell you, stop being worried or anxious (perpetually uneasy, distracted) about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, as to what you will wear. Is life not more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow [seed] nor reap [the harvest] nor gather [the crops] into barns, and yet your heavenly Father keeps feeding them. Are you not worth much more than they? And who of you by worrying can add one hour to [the length of] his life?” Matthew 6:25-27 (AMP)

Perhaps the most troublesome part of my worries and troubles about taking matters into my own hands would be with crushes. When I grow up, I would like to be a loving husband and father with a wonderful and godly wife and children as well. At the age of sixteen, marriage, the first step, is still at least eight or nine years away. Starting in fifth grade and even extending into my underclassman years, I’ve overly expressed my feelings for the different ladies I’ve liked throughout the years and worried at the slightest (even superstitious) hint of another being interested in the person I like. Even this school year, I couldn’t fully enjoy a sports game because my mind was too focused on two people that could have potentially been interested in each other. In my mind, I thought, “Maybe if I show that person that I like her, and she likes me back; perhaps I would find the person to whom God has called me.” Again, I’m too young to start thinking about marriage and dating right now, and all that has led to is hurt friendships and stress. Right now, I need to trust that God is preparing the right godly woman for me and that He is preparing me for her as we mature in Him.

If you have a boyfriend or girlfriend right now, I pray that God blesses your relationship and that you both mature into the godly men and women for your future spouses – whether that is who you are with right now or someone else. For all you loners out there like me, I suggest waiting until you finish high school before you start dating. While it won’t be easy, if you focus on God instead of finding your future spouse, you’ll have a lot less stress. If I had learned what I’m telling you one, two, or even five years ago; many of my friendships would not have hit the fan because of obsessive expression. There will be a time to start looking for a wife, but for now, be praying for your future spouse and for yourself that you would mature into the person of God that He wants you to be for your family now and your future family.

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;… A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;… A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace. Ecclesiastes 3:1-2,5,8

A few months ago, I wrote a blog post on “God’s Soft Voice,” which explained how God can speak to us. When our minds are focused on the worries of life, we distract ourselves from hearing God’s soft voice. Our thoughts are very loud, and it doesn’t take much to drown out God’s still, small voice. However, if you push aside your own voice for God’s voice, He will guide you according to His plans, which are perfect and for you to prosper. Don’t worry because there’s nothing that you can do to move you along God’s will other than acting in faith as He shows you His way. Stay in the Word and in prayer and move when God says, “Go.” Remember that God is always with you, and don’t rush into anything. Sometimes, you just need to wait for God to speak.

So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it. For ye shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands. Isaiah 55:11-12

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord , thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:11-13

Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah. Psalms 46:10-11

Life comes with busyness and the unknown, and at times, the unknown can leave us worried about what is to come. When we worry, we start acting upon our own will instead of running to Jesus to help us get everything figured out. When we rely on ourselves, everything falls out of place, but when we commit to following the Lord, all works together for His glory and for our good. Today, I encourage you to stop worrying about who you will marry, your career, or what is to come. Instead, pray that God shows you His will and listen to His response. Afterwards, continue to trust in Him that everything will come to pass in His perfect timing.

Have a great day!

COMMITTING TO GOD'S GRACE AND LOVE,

Jeremiah Yonemura


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page