top of page

God's Soft Voice


We all at least sometimes like to live life in our own ways. It feels fun and satisfying in the action, but in the end, our will leaves us broken and guilty. However, is there a solution to this issue? As one reads the Bible, he will find that God has given us free will and that there is a way that seems right to man. However, God often speaks to us what He wants us to do so that His will is carried out. The Lord’s will is discovered through different methods that can mostly be subtle and easily ignored if our ears are not fine-tuned.

The first way that God speaks to us is through prayer. Prayer is a conversation with God – not a monologue. Unfortunately, many people will pray, “God, what do you want me to do today?” or, “Jesus, what is my calling in life?” and immediately follow up with, “Amen.” When we pray, we are supposed to listen to what the Lord says. If you want to hear what the Lord has for you, wait in silence and carefully listen to what God puts on your heart, but make sure that it is in line with God’s Word. Anything you hear that contradicts God’s Word is not of God and is of the devil. Before you attentively listen, I suggest praying, “Speak, Lord, your servant is listening.” Only when you humble yourself before the Lord will you be able to clearly hear what the Holy Spirit is telling you.

And the Lord called Samuel again the third time. And he arose and went to Eli, and said, Here am I; for thou didst call me. And Eli perceived that the Lord had called the child. Therefore Eli said unto Samuel, Go, lie down: and it shall be, if he call thee, that thou shalt say, Speak, Lord; for thy servant heareth. So Samuel went and lay down in his place. And the Lord came, and stood, and called as at other times, Samuel, Samuel. Then Samuel answered, Speak; for thy servant heareth. 1 Samuel 3:8-10

Secondly, God speaks His will to us through His Word. Since the Word of God is God-breathed, it is useful for every situation – even for guidance on what to do. While the text itself sets the guidelines for all Christians to follow, prayer and listening to God is again necessary for personal interpretation. Before you read the Bible, ask God to give you an understanding and to speak to you. Since God’s Word never returns void, He will give you an interpretation. If you take the time to understand what you are reading, He will encourage you, convict you, and empower you. This is all part of Him teaching us to be His followers. Heeding to God’s promptings to live a life of faith in Him will build us up in Him.

All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works. 2 Timothy 3:16-17

So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it. For ye shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands. Isaiah 55:11-12

Reading God’s Word and praying are fundamental to opening yourself up to hearing Him and doing what He says because they are both involved in the other ways that Jesus speaks to us through the Holy Spirit. For example, when we go to church, the Holy Spirit can speak to us as the preacher prays over us or speaks truth from the Bible itself. Another example is when you may be walking around, and you feel the sudden urge to do something. God may be putting onto your heart something that He will use for His Kingdom and glory. If you give up such an opportunity, you will miss out on whatever God wanted to do through and in you.

And thine ears shall hear a word behind thee, saying, This is the way, walk ye in it, when ye turn to the right hand, and when ye turn to the left. Isaiah 30:21

Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth: for he shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear, that shall he speak: and he will shew you things to come. He shall glorify me: for he shall receive of mine, and shall shew it unto you. John 16:13-14

Now you might be wondering how exactly God speaks to us in prayer, the Word, his speakers, etc. Well, as the title suggests, God speaks to us in a “soft voice.” Usually (not always), God subtly reveals Himself to all those who listen. When you are praying, reading God’s Word, or even just walking along; you may feel a heavy prompting on your heart to do or say something. You won’t hear God’s voice, but He is still speaking to you. In other cases, you may hear the audible voice of the Lord, but not everyone hears it. Sometimes, if you are praying, God will put a thought into your head as an answer to your prayer or as a prompting to do an action. Again, be careful that everything is of God and not one of two other voices: your voice or the devil’s. Ask God for discernment in such cases so that you truly follow God and not the devil. God’s voice will never contradict His Word. Many times, God will speak to you or captivate your attention through experiences so that He can truly give you His message to you. In many of these situations, God will turn your attention to Him with supernatural events within the ordinary with the same purpose.

Jesus answered them, I told you, and ye believed not: the works that I do in my Father's name, they bear witness of me. But ye believe not, because ye are not of my sheep, as I said unto you. My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: John 10:25-27

And he said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the Lord . And, behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains, and brake in pieces the rocks before the Lord ; but the Lord was not in the wind: and after the wind an earthquake; but the Lord was not in the earthquake: And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice. 1 Kings 19:11-12

Recently, I went to el Rancho de Sus Niños in the Tijuana, Mexico area, and my most used description of the trip is that it was “very Spirit-led.” Throughout the trip, God led me according to His will as I asked Him to do so. On one specific occasion, I was given the opportunity to sponsor a child, and God urged me to take one of the cards home and talk with my parents and grandparents about it. During that same meeting, while we were also talking about the Mission Church Romania (“Inglesia la Misión” is the name the church ministry), God put on my heart that I would one day go to Romania. Later that day, on the last ministry of the trip, at a nearby town, I spoke with Alex[1], one of the students, and he gave me his phone number before leaving. As I was walking back to the cabin, God put on my heart to walk back to the van. When I got back, Alex gifted me with one of his drawings, which was a nice surprise.

We, being humans, can often have a different plan than God’s plan. In cases like this, we must pray and just listen to what God says. While I was on break down in Mexico, my feelings were conflicted about a certain topic, and I cried out to the Lord. As I was praying, I could sense God telling me, “Jeremiah, I know you’re feeling this right now, but I have different plans for you.” As this was going on, the song playing was “How Great is Your Love,” and God reminded me that even in this instance He still loves me. In this example, listening to God’s soft voice was necessary to His plan for my life.

If you can’t already tell, there are blessings that come with obedience to God’s voice. However, there are also negative consequences that will fall upon you if you refuse to obey the Lord. In Deuteronomy 28, God lists different blessings and curses for those who obey and disobey His commandments. God is still the same God, and He will bless us for our obedience but also curse us for our disobedience, proving that He is a just yet loving God. However, if you stumble, there is hope because God will forgive you if you have a penitent heart and empower you in His grace to live holy.

And it shall come to pass, if thou shalt hearken diligently unto the voice of the Lord thy God, to observe and to do all his commandments which I command thee this day, that the Lord thy God will set thee on high above all nations of the earth: And all these blessings shall come on thee, and overtake thee, if thou shalt hearken unto the voice of the Lord thy God… But it shall come to pass, if thou wilt not hearken unto the voice of the Lord thy God, to observe to do all his commandments and his statutes which I command thee this day; that all these curses shall come upon thee, and overtake thee: Deuteronomy 28:1-2, 15

When God speaks to us, it is often in a subtle way for which we must always have our eyes open. What He says could be life changing or just something to do to change someone’s day. Many times, God’s words will be in nudges from the Holy Spirit that come as we are in prayer or in the Word. Sometimes, they will be out of the blue. To tie everything together, God will bring us to fulfill His calling on our lives by revealing His will, both long and short term, by speaking it to us in usually subtle ways. Now and forever, I encourage you to constantly be in prayer and listen to God’s soft voice and let Him guide you throughout life. Committing to following God’s tender voice in all circumstances will bring out God’s will for your life here in 2019 and forever.

COMMITTING TO GOD’S GRACE AND LOVE,

Jeremiah Yonemura

[1] To protect privacy of Alex, I’ve hidden his real name.


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page