top of page

Testimonies, Hypocrisy, and Listening to God’s Will


A man walks into a bar and says to his friend and says to everyone that getting drunk is a sin and that God calls everybody to live a holy life. As he continues speaking, he orders a few drinks and gets drunk out of his mind while professing to be a full-bible believing Christian. What do you think of this man? Do you think he had a good testimony or simply just a life of hypocrisy? Well, if you agree with the answer of him having a life of hypocrisy, you would be correct. Likewise, we must live holy everywhere to be open to God’s will and growth in our lives so that we can have a valid testimony.

As Janelle already explained, sharing your testimony with others is incredibly important. When you share your testimony, you declare how God has changed your life and that God can do the same in the life with whom you are speaking. While this can be quite influential to the kingdom of God, this can also be really damaging if your lifestyle is not right. Why should someone listen to you if you don’t even follow your own teachings? You need to live a life that’s not hypocritical. It’s not easy, but it is rewarding.

And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony; and they loved not their lives unto the death. Revelation 12:11

As you probably know, I speak truth from the Bible, but I’ve had an attitude problem at home. When I spoke with my mom, she told me that if I take up a leadership position at school, I can’t talk the talk without walking the walk. In addition to my rebellious attitude, I have had a struggle with lusts of the flesh. However, last September, my pastor preached about the month of love and preached that if you love God, you will bear fruit and keep his commandments. In Exodus 20, the Lord commands obedience to parents, and I wasn’t following that commandment. When my pastor opened up the altar for people to receive prayer, I walked up, and my former senior pastor prayed over me a relatable prayer. The Lord opened a door for change as I made that commitment.

After a few days of serving the homeless, on Wednesday, Mr. D the Bible teacher at my school invited Pastor Brad his pastor to preach. As I listened, he spoke about how he had denied God several times by not listening to His promptings, whether it was to pray for a specific person or worship God right there on the spot. After hearing this, I felt convicted; I could relate to Pastor Brad. Witnessing is the most effective when you pray and follow the promptings that the Holy Spirit gives you. Mr. D said that it is lame to say, “I was going to do this, but then I didn’t.”

Teach me to do Your will, For You are my God; Let Your good Spirit lead me on level ground. Psalm 143:10

Pastor Brad continued the service offering people who were ready to go into the next step of their lives to stand up. Since I, in the name of Jesus, had let go of the hypocrisy and the ignorance to the Holy Spirit, I was ready continue growing in my faith (they were stunting me before). As I was standing, I felt the need get down on my knees and pray before my King. No longer was I going to let my attitude or ignorance hold me back. In the name of Jesus, I declared the chains broken from my life.

The next day, I started putting the changes in my life into effect. Throughout the day, I felt God calling me to pray over different people for different reasons. As the day progressed, I got to speak with different people and pray with them about the change that they had experienced. During the day, I could see God move in the midst. In addition to this, God also brought healing to an existing friendship.

Friday night, I attended a conference with my church, and the pastor spoke about significant moments. Since I had let go of my sin, I was ready to hear what God had to say about my life. The Lord revealed to me more about my calling in life and confirmed the theme for the blog for next year. When I chose to give up my strongholds, I was ready to receive God what He wanted me to do in life.

Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Psalms 51:10

Look back at my testimony from that specific week in history. I declared wonderful claims of God, but my life wasn’t living up to those claims. Your testimony will be ruined and can even turn people away from God if your actions contradict what you say. However, there is hope and healing for you if that description fits you right now. If you need freedom from a stronghold, enter prayer with God, lift your hands, and ask God to take the burden of your strongholds that are holding you back from growing in your faith and tell Him that you don’t want it anymore. When God lifts the burden from you, you will be free from the strongholds. Don’t let the devil trick you into disbelief to pick up your sin again. Instead get up and tread along the path that God will show you. When you no longer have the sin in your life that was stunting your growth, you will have a soft heart open to hearing what God’s will is.

Once you have received deliverance, you will have temptations and could slip up, but God is merciful and just and will forgive you of your sins if you repent. Remember that God’s grace will empower to give your burden back to the Lord and walk free from. Since the Spiritual Retreat, I have experienced temptation, and I haven’t always responded in the way that should have, but I need to remember to let the sin go to God. As I’ve been making an effort in God’s grace, I’ve been able to see the fruit in my own life. Sin is certainly not okay, but it is definitely not worth keeping strapped to your soul.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. I John 1:9

This holiday season and beyond, I encourage to you to let go of your sin and trust that God is in control. When you live a holy life, you will have an astounding testimony; share it to the world! After you have given your sin to God, ask God what His plans are for your life – short term and long term. Follow through with the God’s calling on your life. Afterwards, your testimony will be much greater than, “I was going to do this, but I didn’t.” Your testimony could encourage someone else later in life – especially this Christmas. People need to know that Jesus is the reason for the season. Share it!

Have a great day, and God bless you! Merry Christmas and a happy new year from Anthony!

PARA LA GLORIA DEL SEÑOR,

Jeremiah Yonemura


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page